Creativity

The six myths of creativity: Fortune

I like myth #3: Time Pressure Fuels Creativity. But I would add: stress to produce output helps creativity, if you keep working.

I have been reading about heterodox economics. I think that Mungowitz end (now renamed) nails it: Kids prefer cheese. I agree with the comments.

I am happy to see new stuff. But long-winded diatribes about the stupidity of the old stuff is a waste of time; show why your approach gives more useful results. If your stuff is better, eventually you will win.

Better does not just mean more realistic, but instead means clearer, easier to follow, more internally consistent, more powerful tools, and so on. None of the heterodox papers I looked at really satisfied that (although that may reflect my ignorance). Look how beautifully written the really successful papers are. I don’t think that is a fluke. That reflects the work and craftsmanship of the research. Its no surpise that Keynes was a great writer.

Leave a Reply

