My favorite line of the day

From the Wall Street Journal, Cubicle Culture by Jared Sandberg, September 19th (I don’t think that I can link the article.)

And they discovered a statistical correlation that explains a lot: “When you hear someone say ‘it is a fact,’ in our data what they are going to say is absolutely not going to be a fact,” says Prof. Cardie.

I will remember this next meeting/seminar/class. And when I formulate my replies to questions, as well. I wonder what fraction of people do believe you when you say ‘it is a fact?’ (I am not sure I have my punctuation right here. No time to check, right now though.)

Leave a Reply

