Somedays LaTeX is mysterious.

Why did my file stop working? Why is the error message so cryptic? It is like reading the tea leaves to figure out what the hell I did wrong.

I should stick to ‘keynote’ for making academic presentations—cutting and pasting equations/pictures from pdf is so seamless. But I always want to try the new latex package. Today it is ‘powerdot’ with beautiful output when it works. And latex bites me in the ass. Every time.

Gah.

Update: and it is not my code. The same file runs fine in some directories, and not in others. Every time I run latex with a new package, I feel like an idiot, Every time.

Got it working, but rebuilding the file, a line at a time (copy and paste). There must have been a strange hidden character somewhere in the the file.

Leave a Reply

