Negotiating grades

I don’t do it. And by writing it here, I am committing (sort of). Each year, they try. Each year, say no. I have seen students argue for 1 point out of 100 on a homework worth 4% of the grade. So that’s 0.04%, which never matters in the end.

I never, ever tried to get re-grades when I was a student. I guess it is just another sign that I am/was different than many other students.

Sure the TA made add the score wrong. But that does not need to be negotiated…

3 responses to “Negotiating grades

  1. “I never, ever tried to get re-grades when I was a student. I guess it is just another sign that I am/was different than many other students. ”

    Sounds a lot like me:)

    But then again, I could never care less what grade I got to begin with.

  2. I think email has decreased the cost for students to attempt negotiation. Students figure it is worth a shot, and most importantly they do not have to face the professor in person.

  3. Email is the easiest for me to deal with. It is the face-to-face stuff that is painful for me.

    Zaid, sounds like I would want you in class—-as long as I could keep you interested.

Leave a Reply

