What kind of student was I?

I took the idea from Playing school, irreverently (link to come)

Preschool
I cannot remember much, except being uncoordinated with scissors. And messy with writing.

Elementary school
Good at math, messy, and often bored. A voracious reader.

Middle school
Lazy, bored, and with terrible social skills. I was the go-to guy if you wanted to tease somebody, as a result, I looked at the floor at lot. Great at math, and still reading like a madman. I would read anything, anytime.

High School
My first experience with a large school–I kept to myself. By this time, I had realized that the actual learning was easy, and I was bored academically. I still did well at math, but got interested in history, and some social sciences. I went to a free high-school, and was easily intimidated by all the other ‘smart’ and loud students. I probably talked seriously to anyone else less then about 20 times in high school. I spend a large part of my freshman year at the public library reading novels–skipping school to do so.

College
For the first time, the material was difficult, and I did not adjust well the first few years. I loosened up socially, but still tended to look at the floor a lot. I choose a major based on ‘getting a job,’ not on intellectual interest. In my senior year, I took courses in what I was interested in and suddenly school ‘clicked.’ I carried around a hard-sided brief case–I can only imagine how nerdy I looked.

Grad School
At first, I was completely intimidated by all the other students. But I outworked them, and found out how much enjoy the ideas in my field. Most of what I was learning seemed to be intuitive and fascinating; I found ‘flow.’ I also met other people with similar intellectual histories, and it was exhilarating. For me, grad school was a lot of fun, even when I was broke. It was the first time that I really felt like a star student. Now I realize that I should have spent less time on the fun stuff and more time on learning how to write. But gosh it was fun to learn, and everything fit together so nicely.

Leave a Reply

