vegreville shrugged

I found this out today (I won’t reveal my answers to the quiz, either)

take the WHAT BAD BOOK ARE YOU test.

and go to mewing.net. not as good as reading a good book, but way better than a bad one.

I was always under the impression that Atlas Shrugged was an important book. I haven’t read it, but the quiz has made me curious. Perhaps it is my spring break reading.

I am thinking even more about tenure. One pro-tenure argument that I believe is the argument that tenured people are more inclined to be open to new, challenging ideas from new people because tenure reduces the cost of letting the new ideas in.

The flip side is that I wonder how tenure effects the college’s ability to retrain faculty in new techniques. In my field, there have been important intellectual revolutions over the last 20-30 years. Some faculty did not necessarily have the technical skills or incentives to learn those techniques. But they were tenured—so some schools fell behind in having people who could teach the new techniques to students, even as the new techniques become important That is a cost of the tenure system, no?

Maybe it is an argument about who should be tenured, too.

Leave a Reply

