Must

learn to say no to extra work. Must learn to say no to extra work. Must learn to say no to extra work. Must learn to say no to extra work.

(I am hoping that if I write it enough times, I will do it.) But noooooooo. Not this year.

What matters for my salary? What matters for my mobility? Probably not the stuff I am agreeing to do.

/ramble

One response to “Must

  1. Right after I read this I got a request to referee a paper from a new third-tier (at best) journal. Upon a quick skim, I found the paper was so badly written that it was painful to read.

    Thanks to your reminder, I declined the offer, since even an “easy” rejection is a lot of work if you take your role as a referee seriously. So, I recommended a former student as a referee – he can use the experience, and it’s an easy reject.

Leave a Reply

